Skip to content

Kind Review

April 20, 2014

I am so grateful to Diane Severson Mori for her kind review of my Blue Sunset in Amazing Stories, including wonderful audio versions of some of my poems, all available to read or listen to at this link:
http://amazingstoriesmag.com/2014/03/poetry-review-blue-sunset-mary-jo-rabe/

Diane Severson Mori is simply amazing! No one does as much for speculative poetry and poets as she does. She writes reviews of poetry and poetry collections at Amazing Stories Magazine, edits Poetry Planet at Star Ship Sofa (http://www.starshipsofa.com), producing podcasts, sings and teaches professionally, maintains a fascinating website at http://divadiane.eu and moves with her family from one European city to another, a truly cosmopolitan and all-round genius. She also has begun to write poetry and already has one poem nominated for the Rhysling Award. I wish she would write more.

I got to “know” her when she was one of the preliminary judges for a poetry contest our organization (Science Fiction Poetry Association, SFPA) ran. She very kindly sent my poem on to be one of the finalists that year.

At almost every workshop I have attended, Kristine Kathryn Rusch and Dean Wesley Smith emphasized the importance of good blurbs and taught us how to write them. Nonetheless, I still think the most honest blurb for Blue Sunset would be “If you already happen to like this kind of thing (i.e. poetry like that found in Spoon River Anthology), then there is a good chance that you might like Blue Sunset.

Blue Sunset is what you would call a “small book”, i.e. not something for everybody, not a potential best seller. I don’t know how many people besides me love Spoon River Anthology, but assuming that I am not in any way unique, there must be some, and this book is for them, i.e. us. I’m not sure how to find these future readers, but I have a suspicion that it would be extremely self-defeating to try to trick others into purchasing this book by claiming that it is something it is definitely not. If you don’t like this kind of thing, you won’t like Blue Sunset, and I don’t want to disappoint you or make you angry by getting you to start reading it under false pretenses.

Now to get the paperback version finished, something I learned how to do at a workshop in Lincoln City, Oregon last May …

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

